Highest Score in IPL History

Highest Score in IPL History

Chris Gayle, the West Indies’ swashbuckling batter, proudly holds the record for the highest score in the Indian Premier League (IPL). On April 23, 2013, against the now-defunct franchise Pune Warriors India, Gayle delivered an unbeaten innings of 175 runs off just 66 balls.

Highest Score in IPL History
Image source : google images

At the iconic M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, Gayle unleashed havoc upon the Pune bowlers, displaying his aggressive prowess. He kickstarted his incredible knock by punishing Ishwar Pandey with five boundaries and then proceeded to decimate Mitchell Marsh in a sensational 28-run over, which included four sixes.

Gayle treated the spinners with disdain, dispatching their deliveries into the stands. He took Ali Murtaza for a ride, smashing three massive sixes and two fours in the 15th over. Even Pune’s skipper Aaron Finch couldn’t escape the onslaught, conceding 29 runs as Gayle struck another set of four sixes in an over.

In a display of sheer dominance, Gayle slammed Ashok Dinda’s full toss straight down the ground for a six, reaching the fastest century in IPL history in just 30 balls. While Gayle reached his hundred, his opening partner Tillakaratne Dilshan was on 17 off 25 balls, highlighting the extraordinary nature of Gayle’s innings.

Gayle continued his assault, adding a couple of boundaries against Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Pune’s most effective bowler that day, surpassing Brendon McCullum’s record of 158 and etching his name as the highest individual scorer in the lucrative league. His incredible onslaught included 13 fours and a staggering 17 sixes against the Pune outfit.

It’s worth noting that McCullum had set the IPL ablaze with his blistering knock of 158 off 73 balls in the very first match of the tournament in 2008, a record that still stands as the highest score by a wicketkeeper and a right-handed batter in the IPL.

In more recent times, KL Rahul holds the distinction of the highest score by an Indian batter in the IPL. Leading the Punjab Kings in IPL 2022, he hammered an unbeaten 132 against the Royal Challengers Bangalore.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *